Residents have many opportunities to provide input to the program. On a day-to-day level, residents help create the call schedule on their services and have great latitude to change it. At the beginning of each academic year, the different PGY levels meet to discuss upcoming rotations and present a preliminary yearly schedule to the administrative chief resident for review. All ideas and input are taken into consideration before the final schedule is drawn up. Periodically, town hall meetings are held to discuss issues before the scheduled resident retreat, which is held annually in the spring.

Administrative Chief Residents

Each year, two chief residents are selected by the Department of Surgery administration to become administrative chief residents. The administrative chief residents’ role is to work with the program director Paul Wise, MD, to create the yearly block schedule and the monthly call schedule for the residency. In addition, the administrative chief residents are responsible for moderating the weekly Morbidity and Mortality Conferences and educational conferences. Administrative chief residents are also voting members of the Surgery Residency Committee. This is an excellent leadership opportunity within the Department of Surgery. Erin Andrade, MD, MPH, and Jessica Lindemann, MD, PhD, were selected as administrative chief residents for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Erin Andrade, MD, MPH

Post-Graduate Year V

Jessica Lindemann, MD, PhD

Post-Graduate Year V

Resident Representatives

Each year, the residents elect representatives to be voting members of the Program Evaluation Committee. This group meets most months to discuss resident, clinical and research issues. Katharine Caldwell, MD, MSCI, and Bradley Kushner, MD, are the resident representatives for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Katharine Caldwell, MD, MSCI

Post-Graduate Year IV

Bradley Kushner, MD

Post-Graduate Year IV

Administrative Research Resident

This role involves research resident assignments for student and resident labs and lectures, coordination for visiting professors, and assisting presenters during weekly Conference and M&M. The administrative research residents also take an active role in coordinating moonlighting opportunities for residents in the lab, and are members of the Curriculum Committee.   

Cameron Casson, MD

Lab Resident

Hannah Phelps, MD

Lab Resident

Curriculum Committee

Each year, residents are selected by department leadership to serve in a two year role as curriculum committee co-chair. The committee  also includes the program director, vice chair of education, associate program directors, house staff office and WISE Center staff, as well as interested faculty and residents. The curriculum committee meets every other week to revise the general surgery education curriculum, develop the conference schedule, and recruit faculty to give lectures and education and simulation labs in the WISE Center. Tiffany Brocke, MD, is the curriculum committee co-chair for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Tiffany Brocke, MD

Post-Graduate Year II